Interview with V. Skender – fellow Russian reenacter

We had a privilege to talk with one of the first airsoft pioneers of Russian reenactment in Croatia, a face many will recognize, fellow Russian reenacter, Vedran Skender. Here is a little interview with him.



Could you describe the beginnings of airsoft in Croatia?

When I was starting with airsoft, around 2010., there were teams like AT Delta, Ursus, PRAVDA, Dark Horse and others, so I can’t say this was beginning of airsoft in Croatia. I came when those teams already started to working up on specific thematic loadouts. A few teams were using real steel equipment. But one thing I can recall, there were much more events, approximately 2-3 per month.

How did you end up playing airsoft?

I was always interested in militaria, especially guns, but also photograpy in general. First time I heard about airsoft from my friend. Since then, I became addicted.

How did early airsoft events look like?

Well, some were larger, and some were minor. It mostly depended on the club who organised it. But, all teams were eager to make better meetings as time passed. Mostly through updating the rules, adding more props or even vehicles. It was interesting and exciting to wait another year, to see how they will try to make their meetings more realistic.

Did you have any legal obstacles, misunderstandings or complaints by locals?

Actually, never, and key was properly transporting my gear, without harrasing the civilians. Photography with full loadout in nature could be tricky, so I always chose uninhabitated places for that.

Why Russian loadouts?

Well, I don’t have specific reason for that. At the same time I bought my first replica (AKS-74), some Russian equimpent became available for sale, and I gone for it.

-Have you ever reenacted some western loadout, besides Russian?

No. Through years, there were a lot of teams who reenacted western military forces, so russian loadout was my way to go.

Where did you get your gear from, was it hard to find certain parts of equipment?

I remember the Soviet Propaganda Shop and Red Alliance Forum. Once upon a time, all equipment was bought through them. And, like today, some things were easier to acquire, and some were pain in the ass to get your hands on.

Can you compare RUSFOR scene in Croatia, now and then?

From what I can see, number of Russian themed airsofters is growing today. Few years ago, there was only few teams and some freelancers. But, it looks like they are now trying to reenact regular army loadouts, instead, then popular, special forces loadouts.

What were the RUSFOR pioneers, first serious airsoft teams?

Pravda is first on my mind, although it has never been a host of airsoft meeting. Guys from Zagorje, Osijek and Pula were also some of first russian teams in Croatia. When we talk about other teams, Delta’s, Dark Horse, Ursus, Hristo and his „Jews“ left a big mark on Croatian airsoft scene.

From which sources have you collected your information from?

When I talk about russian loadout, first and foremost I must mention Red Alliance forum. It was a place where you could collect all relevant and fresh informations about Russian equipment and loadouts.

Compare quality of equipment now and then?

When I talk about SSO, I think best quality of equipment was from year 2000. until 2007. Since then, it has started declining. It is completely different situation for regular army, where I think there has been a lot of progress. Special forces always used best they could acquire.

Experiences with different equipment manufacturers?

I can’t comment on that because all my equipment is real steel. It is difficult to compare equipment, because it depends on period and purpose.

Your favourite piece of equipment/loadout?

My favourite loadout was always combination of gorka and smersh. Actually, that was a loadout who gave my team, Pravda – recognition.

Comparison of western and Russian equipment?

Throughout years, western and eastern equipment became equal by quialty. Materials of uniforms got upgraded, like the quality of ballistic vests. My opinion is, that eastern equipment has better bulletproof vests, but it is lagging when we talk about optics and night visions.

Generally about airsoft scene today?

I can hardly say anything, because of my inactivity in last 2-3 years. At the moment, i am planning to take part in a mislim event in Pula, so i will know more details.

Your opinion about future of airsoft, some predictions?

I don’t have any predictions 🙂


Dear Vedran, we would like to thank you for your time, see you on the battlefield tovarish!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started